RSS Feed

Couponing Queen!

I’ve noticed a lot of my Facebook friends really tightening their belts in 2014 and I wanted to share my secret to saving!

Everyone likes to save a dollar and I am no different.  I started clipping coupons last spring to save and now some may say I am a bit obsessed with my alphabetically filed coupon binder and designated couponing tote bag.  Every day I check the top couponing blogs to see if there is anything worth a trip.  Two sites missing from the list that I refer to often are LivingRichwithCoupons and TheKrazyCouponLady.  All you have to do is choose the store you want to shop at and the sites gather the coupon links and sale data on your behalf.  All the grunt work is done for you, just click and print!

One things I found while clipping coupons is there are ways to find discounts on healthy foods.  There are certainly coupons for unhealthy items but if you search a little you can find coupons for healthier products as well both at Coupons.com and SmartSource.com.  Pair them with store sales and rebate websites like SavingStar and you can save so much money on your groceries that your electric may stay on this month.

Some months I coupon every week, others I coupon only once per month!  It all depends on my budget and how busy I am.  Cutting coupons while watching my evening TV shows makes me feel more productive than if I was stuffing my face with snacks, so I also see it as a good distraction for my poor eating habits when I’m bored.  Couponing also allows me that control over what I plan to eat over the month.  I avoid the coupons for crap cuisine and focus only on what I can afford that is somewhat healthy (like hummus, guacamole, pickles, soups, and rare vegetable and salad items).  In fact I just printed a high value coupon today for $3 off of any 16oz. Yucatan Guacamole from the product Facebook page!

photo (1)

You can find a coupon for almost anything so even if it’s not listed on one of the coupon sites just do a search online for the product you want to buy and you may find a printable coupon! Just remember to check the expiration date.

I encourage everyone to try their hand at clipping coupons.  It may not be for everyone, but the pennies add up in the end and you can see a difference in your bank account!

About Pretty Patina Photography

I am passionate about vegetarianism, exercise and movement, yoga, cats, media, meditation, abandoned locations, and libraries.

One response »

  1. Pingback: It’s A Veg Head Life | Happy and Healthy Kate!

Leave a Reply

