RSS Feed

Focus on the Good.

With the horrible events over the past days in Boston, I find myself struggling between wanting to focus on learning more about the animals that terrorized that great city in order to find out ‘why,’ versus bringing sole focus on the good of mankind and the percentage of Americans who are not out to purposefully kill people.  I think I’ll choose the latter.  I hate giving the terrorist douchnozzles what they want:  Attention.  I feel the social media response has been wonderful by focusing on appreciating the first responders and victims of this tragedy and not losing faith in humanity, while still recognizing the magnitude of such horrible events.

positive1

patton

humanity

Sticking with the theme of focusing on the good, I’ve taken my anger and sadness regarding the Boston events and have been going to the gym.  Sounds shallow right?  Everyone has their way of dealing with tragedy, and right now mine is to focus my energy on something positive: Myself.  The way you choose to focus positively on yourself may be quite different from mine.  Mine just happens to be my health, energy, and self-confidence.

The more I read and think about the bombings, the sadder and angrier I get, which is surely what the terrorists want.  So I choose to be positive.  I choose to turn this negative energy into something good.  (I also chose to send help to the victims of the Boston Marathon Bombing via boston.com.  I chose to donate all I could afford to The One Fund Boston, but there are many other ways to send your assistance.  Please be sure not to get scammed with your online donation!)

Please don’t take this post as “I’m dedicating this workout to Boston” as this dude below did.  I appreciate anyone bringing their thoughts and prayers to the city, but this guy seems to be a bit of an attention whore.   That is not my intent and I will not be lifting my shirt up for the interwebs anytime soon.

workoutboston

I simply want to take this post as a chance to remind myself and others that there are bigger things going on in the world, so negatively focusing on yourself and your imperfections is a huge waste of your time and energy.  This is especially relevant with such a prevalent tragedy currently going on.  We should feel like life is something to appreciate every day, but not all of us do.  I know I don’t.  But today,  I actually enjoyed checking out my legs and glutes in the mirror when I put on my jeans.  They are not slim and slender, but they are strong and shapely, and that is a blessing.  Being healthy and alive is something to be recognized and appreciated.   With each breath I took in Yoga class the other night, I recognized the fact that I could in fact do just that…breath.

Take the time to focus on the good.  Appreciate what a wonderful parent, child, friend, partner, etc. you are to those who love you.  Recognize how well you treat your mind/body/soul.  High five yourself for reorganizing your finances or passing that exam or eating healthy today.  Take 10 minutes to meditate and clear your mind.  If you truly don’t feel there is any good or positive in your life, start with yourself.

Be good to yourself.

Be good to others.

The rest will follow.

About Pretty Patina Photography

I am passionate about vegetarianism, exercise and movement, yoga, cats, media, meditation, abandoned locations, and libraries.

Leave a Reply

