RSS Feed

It’s National Eating Disorder Awareness Week!

NEDAwarenesweek

Shape Magazine wrote an article Monday about National Eating Disorder Awareness Week, mentioning that men make up 10% of eating disorders and that sadly in a 2012 study, eating disorders are increasing in children.  My advice to all mothers out there is to promote a healthy body image to your children and empower them with self-confidence.  Years ago my co-workers 9 year old daughter was telling me she wished she was thinner and prettier.  She was already both of those things, not that those facts even matter.  I felt it almost my duty to try and dispel these thoughts creeping around in her psyche at such a young age, without stepping on her parent’s toes.  Eating Disorders effect people of all shapes, all ages, all genders, and all ethnicities and has the highest mortality rate of any other mental illness (though there are varying studies regarding this fact).  National Eating Disorders Awareness Week is a very personal and meaningful time of the year for me.  I am not the only person I know struggling with this disorder.

ABC has an wonderful article that came out today stating 3 important facts to know about Eating Disorders.  I encourage you to read the wise words of Dr. Rebecca Chaznovitz.   I agree wholeheartedly with all three facts:

  1. Anorexia, Bulimia are not the only eating disorders. (I am living proof of this.)
  2. It often takes a family member or friend, to get treatment started. (not relevant in my situation.)
  3. Talk about it, talk about it more. (hence, another reason I have this blog.)

I’ll now end with some nicely prepared visual statistics from CNN Health:

eating_disorders_2

RESOURCES: 

About Pretty Patina Photography

I am passionate about vegetarianism, exercise and movement, yoga, cats, media, meditation, abandoned locations, and libraries.

2 responses »

  1. YES! COOL! They have overeating anon groups (like AA or other supportive help) out there! I tend to be a stress-comfort-anxiety eater. So I DON’T lose weight when I’m stressed (like some people tend to be so nervous that they forget to eat! I WISH I had that problem) I tend to gain it. I didn’t sleep the week before my wedding (excitement, a little stress/good nerves) but I ATE, not like some brides 🙂 I also crave junk once a month (when Aunt Flo is getting ready to visit), and I tend to always be snacky/munchy (salty, crunchy, crispy, fried/processed) during that afternoon slump 3-5p. I know some people sleep or walk it off but I’m stuck at my desk, next to a candy dish (and vending machines near). SO I have to really plan ahead, only bring healthy snacks, or drink water, or take my supplement like Reliv drink, and that usually helps. I eat late because I work late, so I have to learn to limit my portions. THANKS!

    Reply
    • That’s funny you mention OA, I actually had the link then removed it. So I’ve put it back under Resources. 🙂

      Planning ahead is key for the munchies. I’ve got to pay closer attention to that myself!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

